Dodge Dart Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry guys! New to this whole forum thing and not sure if this would be the right place for this type of thread...

Wondering if someone can briefly explain the differences in the 3 engines? Actually just the difference between the 1.4 Multi Air Turbo and the 2.4... which one is better? 2.4 has more horsepower but does that mean anything? Again I am new to this stuff.

I have the Mopar Edition Dart and looking for the best deal and modifications to make it a better car.

Appreciate it the help ahead of time.

·
Registered
30 Posts
if your looking for an easier way to add power the 1.4 turbo is going to be a better option if you can deal with the lag. a few add ons and your getting +25 to +35 hp cause of getting the turbo to breathe easier.. also tuning of the turbo is going to see better gains.. just my opinion.
(Cant say about the 2.4)

-WR

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you, thats very useful information. Im in the process of modifying my dart now that its finally getting nice here im chicago...

·
Registered
284 Posts
ok, well the difference is the 2.0 and 2.4 share the same block but different head designs.the 2.0 has a DOHC set up that has a(similar to mivec or vtec) system for timing and fuel consumption.
the 2.4 has the same head design that the 1.4 has but its a little bigger and only has a SOHC to control the exhaust side of the head as the intake and fuel is controlled by the multiair system basically timing and intake controled by a sophisticated program and an oil actuator set up.
the 1.4 is a turbocharged version of the fiat 1.4L multiair and is used in an array of fiat set ups. it is probly one of the strongest off the lot with its small turbo and high gearing. it gets the best mpg (if driven properly) and has the highest after market currently due to the Fiat version being out before the the other engines.